Connecticut Paid Sick Leave Begins 1/1/12

Published Wednesday, December 7, 2011
by Brad D. Steele

Beginning in January, the Constitution State will join Washington, D.C., and San Francisco as the only jurisdictions in the country that mandate paid sick leave for private sector employees. The Connecticut law is effective January 1, 2012.

The law applies to clubs with 50 or more employees and applies to service workers who receive an hourly wage--meaning most food and beverage personnel. The law also requires clubs to post a notice regarding the new law in the employees' break room.

Under the law, employees are entitled to earn one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, up to a maximum of five days per year. Employees are not entitled to use any of their accrued paid sick leave until they have worked at least 680 hours for the club. Once they have reached that threshold, they may use their leave only if they have worked an average of at least 10 hours per week during the most recent calendar quarter.

Private clubs in Connecticut are reminded they should begin the process of discussing this new law with their covered employees and they should begin preparing for its implementation at the start of the year.

For further information on the law and to download the employee poster, please visit www.ctdol.state.ct.us. Should you have any further questions, please contact NCA's Vice President of Government Relations and General Counsel, Brad D. Steele, at steele@nationalclub.org.

Happy holidays and thank you for being a part of NCA!

Corporate Partners

Club Industry Brief

NCA's free bi-weekly news digest is designed specifically for private club leaders. It covers industry news and trends and articles on golf, membership and operations for private clubs.